Categories, design and a whole lot of organizing

Recently, I’ve been lurking in the Zazzle forum and was just reading a whole bunch of conversations filled with tips and tricks on how to improve one’s Zazzle experience. I came upon this entry wherein someone asked which is better: an online store organized by design or one which is organized by product type. To my dismay, almost everyone preferred the first choice. You see, I initially categorized everything by product type and after reading several more entries pertaining to the same question, I had two options to choose from:

a. Ignore the popular answer of prosellers and obey my laziness

or

b. Reorganize the whole store by design and pray very hard that all the hard work which I’m going to put into this will eventually pay off.

Silly me chose to disrespect my laziness and went ahead to reorganize everything. It’s been two days and I’m not yet happy with what I’ve accomplished. So far, I’ve almost got everything in place and my store front now has these colorful new banners:

Adorable Monsters

Statements

Love

Patterns

Vector art

Cute Characters

FILIPINO / PINOY

Are they too much? I hope not because I’m almost finished and I don’t want to start over. Fine, I’m not yet near the finish line but I have absolutely no plans of starting over 😐
Tell me what to do. I’m open to suggestions, people! πŸ™‚
4 thoughts on “Categories, design and a whole lot of organizing

  1. Pingback: A friendly blue monster on Zazzle « AbbyCastro Designs

  2. Your store looks fantastic. I think what you have done is the right way to go. Especially since you have a list of product types down the left side.

    At my store http://www.zazzle.com/in_case*/ I have set-up a category for all most every design I do. But then the store is based around almost just cases for electronic products (hard work and makes my front page very long but easy to find designs).

    In hindsight, I think I would just stick with one store as it makes it much easier to market.

    Good luck – though I’m not sure you need it with your fab designs! YOU WILL DO WELL and it’s because of your hard work and talent.

    • Great advice, thanks! I checked out your store and it is wonderfully organized. Wish I could do that with my own! I’ll try to think of some other things to do so I could organize a large variety of product types.

      Good luck too on Zazzle! Thank you again! πŸ™‚

  3. Pingback: 15% OFF ON ALL ORDERS! « AbbyCastro Designs

Leave a Reply

